Monday, July 4, 2022
HomeIndiaValue of vote of MPs reduced to 700 from 708 after 5...

Value of vote of MPs reduced to 700 from 708 after 5 presidential polls | India News

NEW DELHI: The election to choose the next President of India will be held on July 18 and the counting, if there is a need, will be held on July 21, the Election Commission said on Thursday. It said the new President will take oath on July 25.
According to the EC, the value of the vote of a Member of Parliament (MP) has gone down to 700 from 708 in the presidential poll due to the absence of a legislative assembly in Jammu and Kashmir. The commission’s report shows that the value of each MP’s vote was maximum at 723 in the 1974 election since the population of the 1971 census was taken as the benchmark calculating this value. The value of MPs’ votes had come down to 702 in the 1977 presidential poll and had again increased to 708 in the 1997 election, which continued till the last presidential poll.
The value of the vote of an MP in a presidential election is linked to the number of elected members in legislative assemblies of states and UTs, including Delhi, Puducherry and Jammu and Kashmir. Currently, J&K doesn’t have an assembly.
In response to a question, Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) Rajiv Kumar said the value of vote of each MP in this election will be 700. “Earlier it was 708 and it has been changing. It was 702 at one time,” he said.
The electoral college for the presidential election comprises the elected members of the Lok Sabha, Rajya Sabha and of the legislative assemblies of states and UTs including Delhi and Puducherry. Nominated MPs, MLAs and members of legislative councils are not eligible to cast their votes in this election.
The value of vote of each MLA varies in different states. For example, in Uttar Pradesh, the value of vote of each MLA is 208, followed by 176 in Jharkhand and Tamil Nadu. The value of each MLA’s vote from Maharashtra is 175. In the two states, which will play a crucial role in this election — Andhra Pradesh and Odisha where YSRCP and BJD have overwhelming majority — the value of each MLA’s vote will be 159 and 149 respectively .
The CEC said the existing norms such as no party can issue whip to its members for voting, secret ballot and use of the pen provided by the EC for voting will be followed strictly.
The Commission has also directed to ensure the use of eco-friendly and biodegradable materials and eliminate the use of prohibited plastic and other materials, as a part of its endeavour to make elections eco-friendly.

Source link



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments