Monday, July 4, 2022
HomeCareerReserve Bank of India : RBI Headquarter, Nationalization, Qualifications and List Of...

Reserve Bank of India : RBI Headquarter, Nationalization, Qualifications and List Of Governors From 1935 to Present

The Reserve Bank of India (RBI) is the Central bank of the country which was established on April 1, 1935, under the Reserve Bank of India establishment Act 1934. The regulatory framework for establishment of the Central Bank was recommended in 1926 by the Hilton young Commission or the Royal Commission on Indian currency.

What is the Central Bank?

The Central Bank is basically a Regulatory Authority of the rest of the banks. The RBI as a Central Bank is responsible for overseeing, controlling and regulating monetary policies which are formulated with specific goals to stabilize the currency, low inflation and encouraging employment opportunities.

RBI Headquarters

Headquarter of RBI : Mumbai
Initially the Headquarter or Central office of RBI was established in Kolkata but in 1937 it was permanently shifted to Mumbai.
Initially it was privately owned but after its Nationalization in 1949, the whole sole control went in the hands of the Government of India.

Board of Directors of RBI

All the important decisions of the RBI are taken by the Apex authority which is known as the Central Board of Directors. The provision for CBD is mentioned in section 8 of the Reserve Bank of India Act 1934.

There is one official directors body which comprises the supreme authority Governor and 4 Deputy Governors of RBI. These appointments are done by the Central Government of India as per the RBI act 1934. They are appointed for a tenure of 5 years, which is mentioned in Section 8(4) of the RBI Act. Apart from this official board of directors there is also a non-official board consisting of 14 members.

The Governor of RBI is appointed by the Prime Minister’s Office on the recommendation of the Union Finance Minister and the former Governor. While the deputy governor is appointed by the ACC.

Qualifications For RBI Governor

There are no such specific qualifications for becoming the Governor of the Central Bank of India. Persons with different educational backgrounds can be appointed as Governor. But the trend shows that either Civil servants or Economists with working experience in the field of financial services or economy are eligible to serve as the Governor of RBI.

Name of the Governor of RBI

Currently Mr. Shaktikanta Das is serving as the 26th Governor of RBI who is an IAS officer of 1980 batch from Tamil Nadu Cadre with History as his educational background. He has been a member of the fifteenth finance commission and India’s Sherpa to G20.
Out of 25, 14 Governors have been Civil Servants while the rest 7 were Economists.

Name of Deputy Governors of RBI

In present RBI has 4 serving Deputy Governors, whose names are;

  • Mr Mahesh Kumar Jain
  • Dr. Michael Debabrata Patra
  • Mr. M. Rajeshwar Rao
  • T. Rabi Shankar.

List of Governors of RBI

SN Governor Name Tenure
1 Sir Osborne Smith April 1, 1935 to June 30, 1937
2 Sir James Braid Taylor July 1, 1937 to February 17, 1943
3 Sir CD Deshmukh August 11, 1943 to June 30, 1949
4 Sir Benegal Rama Rau July 1, 1949 to 14 January 1957
5 KG Ambegaonkar January 14, 1957 to 28 February 1957
6 HVR Iyengar March 1, 1957 to February 28, 1962
7 PC Bhattacharya March 1, 1962 to June 30, 1967
8 LK Jha July 1, 1967 to May 3, 1970
9 BN Adarkar May 4, 1970 to June 15, 1970
10 S. Jagannathan June 16, 1970 to May 19, 1975
11 NC Sen Gupta May 19, 1975 to August 19, 1975
12 KR Puri August 20, 1975 to May 2, 1977
13 M. Narasimhan May 3, 1977 to November 30, 1977
14 IG Patel

December 1, 1977, to September 15, 1982

15 Manmohan Singh

September 16, 1982 to January 14, 1985

16 Amitav Ghosh January 15, 1985, to February 4, 1985
17 RN Malhotra

February 4, 1985, to December 22, 1990

18 S. Venkatraman

December 22, 1990 to December 21, 1992

19 C. Rangarajan

December 22, 1992, to November 21, 1997

20 Bimal Jalan

November 22, 1997 to September 6, 2003

21 YV Reddy

September 6, 2003, to September 5, 2008

22 D. Subbarao

September 5, 2008, to September 4, 2013

23 Raghuram Rajan

September 4, 2013, to September 4, 2016

24 Urjit Patel

September 4, 2016, to December 11, 2018

25 Shashikanta Das December 12, 2018, to October 2021
26 Shashikanta Das October 2021 to Present

Source link



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments