Karnataka set to see thriller for fourth Rajya Sabha seat | India News

BENGALURU: A thrilling triangular contest is in the offing for the fourth Rajya Sabha seat in Karnataka, elections for which will be held on Friday. None of the candidates from the three parties – BJP, Congress and Janata Dal (Secular) – have the adequate numbers to win it.
Union Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharamanactor-politician Jagesh, outgoing BJP MLC Lehar Singh Siroya, former Union minister Jairam Ramesh, Congress state general secretary Mansoor Ali Khan and former JD(S) MP D Kupendra Reddy are the six candidates in the fray.
A candidate needs the support of 45 MLAs to win, and Sitharaman, Juggesh and Ramesh will have it easy.
But a tight contest is on the cards for the fourth seat among Siroya, Khan, and Reddy if JD(S) and Congress fail to arrive at a consensus before the polls. BJP appeared confident of winning three seats.

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button