Monday, July 4, 2022
HomeCareerAll You Need To Know About Vice-President of India: Election Procedure, Eligibility...

All You Need To Know About Vice-President of India: Election Procedure, Eligibility And Relation With USA

The Vice-President of India is the 2nd highest executive authority after the President. He also serves as the Ex-Officio Chairman of the Upper House of Parliament; Rajya Sabha As we know most of the provisions of our Constitution are replicas of some of the best constitutional provisions in the world and borrowed from various nations, so the provision of Vice-President too.

Article 63 of Indian Constitution provides for the post of Vice-President of India and this provision is adopted from the Constitution of the USA. Currently Mr. M. Venkaiah Naidu is holding the charge as the 13th Vice-President of republic India. The Vice-President of India is appointed for a period of 5 years. Now let’s have a look at the election procedure of Vice-President and how it differs from that of President.

Election of Vice-President of India

The Vice-President of India is elected through an electoral college consisting of members of the both houses of Parliament. This kind of election procedure where the vote is given through a secret ballot is considered as Indirect election. The procedure differs in some manner from the procedure of election of President such as:

  • In the case of a Presidential election only elected members of Parliament can participate while both elected and nominated members can participate in the election of Vice-President.
  • While the members from state legislative assemblies are included in the election of President, they are excluded in case of Vice-President’s election.

Eligibility To Become Vice-President

Article 66 of the Indian Constitution provides the election procedure of Vice-President. There are some basic qualifications that a person needs to fulfill to participate in the election of Vice-President of India. These are as follows:

  • The first and foremost eligibility is that He/She needs to be a citizen of India.
  • The 2nd criteria is about age. The person should have completed the age of 35 years.
  • He should be qualified to be a member of Rajya Sabha.
  • He should not hold any office of profit under the Union Government, state government or any public authority.

Articles Related to Vice-President of India

Here we are presenting the list of important articles from 63 to 71, related to the Vice-President of India.

Article 63: The Vice-President of India.
Article 64: The Vice-President to be the Ex-officio Chairman of the council of state.
Article 65: The Vice-President to act-as President or to discharge his functions during casual vacancies in the office or during the absence of President.
Article 66: Election of Vice-President.
Article 67: Terms of office of Vice-President.
Article 69: Oath or Affirmation by the Vice-President.
Article 71: Matters relating to, or connected with the election of Vice-President.

List of Vice-President of India From 1952 to Present

Vice – President of India Term of office

Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan (First Vice-President of India)

13 May 1952 – 12 May 1957
13 May 1957 – 12 May 1962
Zakir Hussain 13 May 1962 – 12 May 1967
VV Giri 13 May 1967 – 3 May 1969
Gopal Swarup Pathak

31 August 1969 – 30 August 1974

BD Jatti

31 August 1974 – 30 August 1979

Mohammad Hidayatullah

31 August 1979 – 30 August 1984

R. Venkataraman 31 August 1984 – 24 July 1987
Shankar Dayal Sharma

3 September 1987 – 24 July 1992

KR Narayanan 21 August 1992 – 24 July 1997
Krishan Kant 21 August 1997 – 27 July 2002
Bhairon Singh Shekhawat 19 August 2002 – 21 July 2007
Mohammad Hamid Ansari

11 August 2007 – 11 August 2012
11 August 2012 – 11 August 2017

Venkaiah Naidu 11 August 2017 – Incumbent

Source link



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments